Reviews


The Pizza Steel - Reviews

Here you can take a look at what our customers think about The Pizza Steel.

Two weeks after making their purchase, all customers receive an invitation by email to review their purchase. All reviews are published instantly on this page.

  180

01/22/2018
Awesome
"I had high hopes having read the reviews but was expecting to be slightly disappointed as I had read everywhere that domestic ovens just can’t get hot enough to make decent pizza. Well the internet is wrong! Just used the pizza steel for the first time and the pizzas we made were perfect. Better than the majority of pizzas I’ve had at restaurants in Italy and very very close to what you get with a wood fired oven (just missing the char on the crust but might experiment with a steel above to get that). And the peels work really well too. Worth every penny. If I’d known how well it worked I would pay double "
Phil Harris
01/16/2018
I’m loving it!
"I’ve just used it today (conditioned with olive oil as recommended before first use). Baked tartine loaves and sourdough crackers and I must say it is superb. Best heat distribution for my loaves and crackers ever!"
Nicole Chung
01/16/2018
Pizza steel purchase
"We purchased the pizza steel combo and though we had a few issues with quality to start with our concerns were dealt with efficiently and we are now extremely happy with our steel. We have now used it and it is definitely worth the price. The pizza we made was brilliant, much better compared to the pizzas we used to make on our previous stone. We would highly recommend this product. "
Jennifer Treadgold
01/16/2018
Worth the cost
"I use the steel for both Pizza and Sourdough. It really does make a difference, and I would certainly say that if you make a lot of your own bread then its worth the original outlay!"
Jake Morris
01/09/2018
Gourmet Pizzas for Life
"I'm very happy with the Pizza Steel and I'm glad I bought it because my pizzas and breads are now consistently good. To improve the product, I would chamfer the edges because they are quite sharp, and reduce the cost a tad because steel is a relatively inexpensive material."
Oscar Sande
01/05/2018
Telling everyone about this bit of kit
"A genuine pleasure to deal with this company! I ordered the steel combo kit with a known delay and was happy to wait! To my surprise it not only turned up ahead of schedule, but was a kit of superb products packaged and delivered well. I believe that part of the purchase of any item can be let down by poor packaging, delivery, customer service etc and was aware that because all of my expectations had been met in this area that the quality of the actual product might actually be a let down!!! Nope!!! The quality and the finish of the steel, peels and even the dough chopper was quite remarkable. The guide whilst brief is handy for keeping, not that you need too and just tells it like it is! If you hadn’t guessed I’m a fan;) so far my partner and I have had amazing pizza of course and a whole host of other breads including soda bread and Fougasse. Can’t wait to use it every time as it just seems to add something to the food!"
Tony Miles
12/15/2017
Great results!!
"This product produces perfect, consistent results for me. Using the two peels works very well. The trick is to prepare transfer and bake the pizza on parchment paper as this significantly increases the speed of the placing and retrieving the pizza's thus keeping the all important heat in the oven. "
Darren Wolfenden
12/14/2017
Sourdough bread
"Just used the pizza steel to make a sourdough loaf. Brilliant result and very pleased- gave a good rise to the bread."
Keith Magee
12/13/2017
Excellent Product
"I've used it three or four times now. Twice for pizza and twice for a normal tinned loaf of bread. The pizza's cooked quickly and the base was lovely and crisp all over. No more soggy centres.... The tinned loaves cooked nice and evenly and had great lift."
Angus Walker
11/28/2017
Great heavy Pizza Steel
"Quite surprised just how good the steel is. I've only used it twice but the crust on my Pizzas have improved dramatically (previously used a stone)"
Lewis Braid
11/20/2017
Excellent piece of kit - had raised the game for home made pizzas!
"Super quality, great service and speedy delivery. Exactly as described and easy to use following the instructions for oiling it to season beforehand. Have used a handful of times already and delighted with the results - highly recommended!"
Mark Effingham
11/18/2017
Perfect pizza
"Having had two stones break i bought this steel which is clearly going to last a lifetime. Steel heats up quicker and the pizza base is certainly crispier. Expensive, but very please with the purchase."
Zenith Wilson
11/16/2017
Fantastic product can recommend it
"Fantastic product can recommend it"
Bob Winckle
10/25/2017
Excellent bit of kit
"I am well pleased with the Pizza Steel it holds the heat better than the oven stone I had before, it's a well-finished bit of kit. "
John Bateman
10/18/2017
Good
"I like it, it works exactly like everyone elses."
Giles Goodman
10/16/2017
It works so much better
"It works so much better than a stone. Very impressed."
Clive Rowlands
10/16/2017
Does the job excellently.
"I bake bread most days so have left the steel permanently in the oven (I have a heater/range cooker). It does the job really well and the peel is a great tool for sliding the bread onto the steel. Very,very heavy which is why it's a bonus I can leave it in there. Very pleased overall. Yet to try a pizza!"
Jane Saunders
10/10/2017
How did I live without my Pizza Steel for so long?
"The Pizza Steel is easy to season and use. I’ve used it to make home made pizzas and home made sourdough bread so far with excellent results. My main oven broke so I’ve only got a small convection oven and even in this little oven, the steel heats up beautifully and bakes evenly. I’m really pleased with the results and I do find the two peels extremely useful for getting the pizza and bread in and out of the oven without having to move the steel at all. Thank you for bringing this product to the UK; I started to think the only place I could get one was from the USA!"
Georgina Wong
10/06/2017
Best Pizza I have ever made.
"This is a really really good product. I have previously used a baking stone which is OK, but the steel takes it to a whole new level! I got the larger size which fits perfectly in my oven, and can now make really big pizzas with ease! If you are a pizza lover, then this is definitely a worthwhile investment. I have never had results as good as this from many years of making my own pizza, and so glad that I purchased the combo package. Everything from the ordering process, delivery speed, customer service and most importantly the product has been top notch! The quality is such that I'll be looking forward to many years of pizza heaven to come! Thanks Brian and team"
Peter Milmine
09/18/2017
Pizza tray
"Great it was a gift and the person loved it"
Jane Simpson
09/15/2017
Pizza Steel
"Gtear product, perfect crust and bottom every time "
Andrew Christie
09/12/2017
Review
"Works perfectly as advertised"
J House
09/08/2017
So good I bought two!
"I already had a rectangular pizza steel which gives superb results and got the round one for pizza cooks on a Kamado Joe. So much better than a pizza stone at transferring the heat to the pizza. Highly recommended!"
Peter Collins
08/31/2017
Pizza steel combo
"Just perfect, cooks the pizza with a lovely crust five stars every time."
Malcolm Gobey
08/30/2017
Great pizzas
"The aga edition pizzas steel has transformed my brad and pizza cooking - just great!"
Mark Morrison
08/14/2017
Fantastic Pizza
"My overall experience of The Pizza Steel was excellent. The pizza was cooked to perfection . The pizza was just the right texture and tasted wonderful. The peel is an useful aid to transfer the pizza. I also baked a sourdough loaf on The Pizza Steel this too turned out very well. Buy one you won't regret it!"
Frances Murphy
08/14/2017
Simply the Best!
"Having purchased pizza stones in the past only for them to crack and be returned under warranty I was hopeful when the Pizza Steel Combo arrived. It sits patiently on the lower rack in the oven, even when not in use and in a little over 2 weeks we've already used it countless times both for pizza and loaves, each time with superb results. On one particular occasion I had to convince my wife that I hadn't purchased an artisan loaf and tried to pass it off as my own. In short, i'm immensely impressed with the Pizza Steel and would recommend it to anyone as opposed to a pizza stone; thanks guys."
Gary Wicks
08/11/2017
Best pizza crust
"Best pizzas ever with nice thin and crispy crust."
Steven Connolly
08/10/2017
fantastic piece of kit, i've now bought 2 !
"i've been making pizzas from Tony Gemignani's "Pizza Bible", he recommends using 2 pizza steels at a time. we now eat the best pizzas we've ever tasted (purely down to following his detailed recipies and using these super steels ) I dont need to use any baking paper, just crank the oven up for an hour , they just bake on the steels . best and most handy kitchen equipment i've ever invested in Graeme "
graeme Cairns
08/08/2017
Gift
"This was a gift for my son who loves cooking. He has been thrilled to bits with the pizza steel and also used it for baking bread. Wonderful everyone should have one. "
Susan Schneeberger