Reviews


The Pizza Steel - Reviews

Here you can take a look at what our customers think about The Pizza Steel.

Two weeks after making their purchase, all customers receive an invitation by email to review their purchase. All reviews are published instantly on this page.

  243

03/22/2016
Higly recommended
"I can highly recommend the pizza steel if you’re into baking bread. This far I’ve had amazing results with all types of bread from light yeast based bread to massive sourdough loafs. I’ve even used it to bake very authentic naan bread. A great add on is getting fiberglass baking paper to use together with the combi peel. Makes it super easy to get the bread on to the steel."
Gustav Vidlund, Sweden
03/19/2016
Higly recommended
"I got my steel just after christmas and have used it about once a month since then. I was initially hesitant whether to buy one, as they are considerably more expensive than your average stone. However, I have to say that the results have been simply fantastic, and completely transformed the quality of my homemade pizzas. I’ve cooked a couple of times for big groups of people and it’s some of the best pizza I’ve ever had. Cooking in 3-5 mins and barely any time needed between pizzas. I’d also recommend getting a metal peel. It’s massively reduced the number of burns on my hands. Overall I’m very happy and would highly recommend."
Nick Rhodes, Lemington Spa
03/18/2016
Received it in just a few days!
"I bought this pizzasteel for breadbaking, the additional heat from the steel plate gives better result and more ‘ovenspring’. The steel plate is very heavy so I usally leave it in the oven on a lower shell. The order process was very fast, I received my order in just a few days"
Wendy, Netherlands
03/12/2016
Great
"Great piece of kit, made the difference between good pizza and great pizza! Would happily recommend to friends, and have already done so."
Michelle Woods, Axbridre
03/02/2016
Much better than stone
"Like others I bought this after some research to replace a cracked stone. It is much better than the stone. The pizza’s cook in about 4 – 5 minutes in my oven which goes up to 275C and the results are fantastic just the way we like them thin and crispy.Very happy with the product highly recommended!"
Jim Griffiths, Andover
03/01/2016
Totally reliable
"Really great. I replaced a stone that had cracked at 230c. This pizza steel makes a better pizza base and totally reliable and working in a really hot over. I wish mine went over 250c!"
JJ, Reigate
02/29/2016
Pizzas in 4 minutes!
"Superb product. Now making pizzas in 4 minutes, which are way better than with a baking stone!"
Chris, Petersfield
02/26/2016
Definately worth its price
"An absolutely amazing product. You can think the transition from a ceramic pizza stone to a pizza steel very similar to the transition from a traditional baking pan to a ceramic pizza stone. The difference is obvious. With pizza steel it is possible to bake restaurant level pizza al taglio and very good pizza napoletana in home oven. Just remember to preheat the steel properly. In my oven about 45 minutes in 300 °C with the last 15 minutes with broiler is needed. In addition to excellent baking results, I love the fact that a small dribble of cheese or tomato sauce won’t make it crack. It may feel slightly expensive, but is definitely worth its price!"
Niilo Latva-Pukkila, Finland
02/21/2016
Fast and easy to use
"Excellent results. The limited heat of normal electric oven is solved by the pizza steel. The result is very close to stone oven. It is fast and easy to use. Highly recommended. Measure your oven to have the right size."
Pasi, Finland
02/17/2016
..makes all the difference!
"What a great product. I’d heard great things about pizza steels in general so I took a punt on this and I’m really glad I did. I’ve used it several times in the last week and it really has transformed my pizzas – they are actually crispy now! The peels are also useful and make for easy transfer to the oven and can even be placed into the oven directly on to the steel if the dough is a little too sticky and won’t slide off. I’d recommend this to anyone looking for higher quality pizzas at home, it makes all the difference."
Tim, Holland
02/17/2016
Makes all the difference
"What a great product. I’d heard great things about pizza steels in general so I took a punt on this and I’m really glad I did. I’ve used it several times in the last week and it really has transformed my pizzas – they are actually crispy now! The peels are also useful and make for easy transfer to the oven and can even be placed into the oven directly on to the steel if the dough is a little too sticky and won’t slide off. I’d recommend this to anyone looking for higher quality pizzas at home, it makes all the difference."
Ross Young, Sittingbourne
02/12/2016
..to the next level!
"Excellent, quality product. Has really taken my Pizza’s to a new level!"
Donald, Bo’ness (Scotland)
02/09/2016
Tremendous product!
"Absolutely tremendous product. Having previously been through two pizza stones in very quick succession (both cracked after one use just by opening the over door!) I was delighted to be alerted by a colleague to the pizza steel. I have only used it once so far but was fantastic. Produced a batch of top quality pizzas and then was easy to clean and store. Be aware though that it is a very heavy piece of kit but I have no concerns of the longevity of the product. My recommendation would be to stop thinking and just buy it."
Liam, Leicester
02/06/2016
My family loves it
"I love the pizza steel! I haven’t quite got my dough recipe right yet so haven’t been able to slide the pizza directly on to the steel (even with plenty of flour my dough has been too wet) so I’ve cooked the pizza on the paddle, on the steel. It puffs up beautifully at the edges and cooks quickly. Rave reviews from the family."
Laura Hardwick, Woodbridge
01/20/2016
Fast shipping
"Excellent heavy duty product for a great pizza char compared to standard pizza stones. Expedient shipping. Highly recommended."
Frank, Portugal
01/18/2016
Good quality products
"Hi, good fast delivery ,good quality products . Have had a good use of the steel for my bread and pizza making , the results have come out top notch , I use Italian pizza flour with a polish the taste and crust come out spot on , bread has a nice brown crust all over , the steel really does a good job it’s moved my baking up to the next level . https://www.weekendbakery.com/posts/category/best-bread-recipes/page/2/ Try these Dutch bakers really good recipes. Thanks Graham ."
Graham Perry, Chester
01/15/2016
Excellent pizza
"This has been a fantastic purchase. It was a present for my husband who has been very happy with the results he has achieved. It really helps to get heat required for excellent pizza. Also they were very helpful regarding delivery."
Melinda Lowther-Le Feuvre, St Clement, Jersey
01/14/2016
Highly recommended
"Excellent product – does what it promises and is consistent in providing a great crust for pizza in a home oven. Also brings down the total cooking time for a pizza down to about 4 minutes when using in combination with maxed out broiler. Highly recommended."
Ilkka Savolainen, Finland
01/14/2016
An absolute must!
"An excellent product and great service. If you want the best home-baked pizza possible, then buy one now! You can find great artisan pizza recipes at http://www.modernistcuisine.com – that’s the website that first convinced me to get a baking steel. A absolute must!"
Matt Firth, Conchester
01/08/2016
Amazing!
"I only see two downsides to the product: 1) You’ll have to season your baking steel yourself and smoke up your house. I’d love it if this was done in the factory instead. 2) The combi peels are pre-bent on the long side, rather than the short one. This means you can’t use the bend as a handle when working in a deep oven. Now that I got the minor issues out of the way, I only have one thing to say: These are amazing!"
Václav Vymazal, Czech Republic
01/08/2016
Great product
"Great product – transforms your pizza making."
Ian Conlon, Bruxelles, Belgium
01/07/2016
Crisp!
"Bought two steels, for me and for a friend after much looking around and comparing. These ones are made of steel (not stainless which is less conductive). Mine lives permanently in my oven and I believe it helps maintain a steady temperature. Great for pizzas and whatever you need to have a crispy bottom (I used it for beef wellington). It would be nice for the peels to have less sharp edges, but some sanding solved that. Overall a great product and great customer service!"
Cristina, Spain
01/07/2016
It works!
"It works! The baking steel really does get the base of a pizza crispier in a conventional oven. So good I bought two of them – one for me and one for my brother-in-law."
BirdieS, Chippenham
01/06/2016
Wish I had a bigger oven
"The baking steel has taken my pizza game to a much higher level than I could achieve with a baking stone. Without building or buying my own dedicated pizza oven, the steel allows the best possible pizza, far better than a stone or baking tray. The only downside is I don’t have a bigger oven so I can get an even bigger steel! The metal paddles are quite useful too, although a little unwieldy in my oven space and the dough cutter is brilliantly useful. Top class product and Brian was really helpful with a query about my order."
Tim, Nottingham
01/06/2016
Very happy
"I’ve been able to reduce the bake time of the pizza’s to around 4 minutes by placing the baking steel in the oven close to the top heating element. The baking steel heats up quickly this way. Crust comes out crispy on the outside and soft and airy on the inside. Very happy with it!"
Dino, Netherlands
01/06/2016
I recommend it!
"A must have for all pizza lovers! Unlike the traditional pizza stone, this steel won’t crack ever. So even if one would happen to see the price to be a tad high it really isn’t, because you only need to buy it once."
Mika Nygård, Finland
01/06/2016
Will last a lifetime
"My aim was to get closer to the mythical 450C temperature effect (cooking time 90 seconds!) of a real oven and preserve the great fluffiness of a Neapolitan pizza. I put my pizza steel on the bottom on the oven and use bottom heating + grill at full blast. This gets me close to 300 degrees and I can cook pizza in 4-5 minutes instead of 9-12 in a regular setting. Spectacular results and only the Pizza Steel can achieve that! Built like a tank, this will last a lifetime. One suggestion: no need to proof/oil upon shipping as long as you dry it/keep it dry it won’t rust and this doesn’t add anything as hot pizza will not stick anyway."
Francois, London
01/06/2016
My brother loves it!
"I bought the Pizza Steel for my brother for Christmas. The service and delivery was smooth, easy and efficient and my brother loves the product! Good news all round!"
Claire, St Albans
01/06/2016
Amazing :-)
"Amazing bit of kit!!!"
Nick, Whitley Bay
01/05/2016
Pizzas better than ever!
"Finally a baking steel available for a reasonable price in Europe! My pizzas are better than ever (cut 2 minutes off the cooking time on a stone, with a crisper/fluffier crust.) I have also used it as a griddle for pancakes and grilled cheese sandwiches with superb results, and have also cooked burgers on it on my Weber for an incredible sear. The only way to make the steel better would be for it to arrive pre-seasoned, but that is just a small detail."
Jordan Moore, France