Reviews


The Pizza Steel - Reviews

Here you can take a look at what our customers think about The Pizza Steel.

Two weeks after making their purchase, all customers receive an invitation by email to review their purchase. All reviews are published instantly on this page.

  243

07/25/2016
My new Pizza Steel!
"I have so far used a 1 inch worktop saver in granite stone as my pizza stone, but the Pizza Steel takes up less space, heats up quicker and retains a higher temperature, more in line with the max temperature of my oven (which makes a difference since mine only go to 250 C.) It is also nice to know that I now have a "stone" that will not break. Overall, I am happy. It was not the cheapest of products, but the service, both before and after the purchase was top and the delivery was pain-free and very quick and it made me accept the price, no problem. I bought the baking combo, but have so far not used it although that may change in the future. Many thanks, looking forward to more you tube videos in the future!"
Erling Bjornsen
07/25/2016
Lovely Stuff
"Great steel, fits my new wood burning oven like a glove and makes awesome pizza. Thank you for great service with a smile from the pizza steel team too. Andy"
Andrew Smith
07/25/2016
excellent product
"top drawer stuff."
david o connor
07/25/2016
Great pizza's
"I have a wood burning oven in the garden but when it's just the wife and I it's too much of a bother to fire it up. The solution is the pizza steel. Fantastic pizza in six minutes,many thanks."
David Rock
07/23/2016
Pizza Steel
"It took me a couple of goes to figure out how long to preheat the steel with my oven, but now i have that, my pizzas are coming out great. Now its all about making them as big as i can fit on the tray. "
Martin Satchell
07/22/2016
Great product, even better customer service!
"I bought my pizza steel after years of making my own pizzas and wanting to get better crust - I think most people fall in this group. As any other review of the product will tell you, this product definitely achieves this. I had a minor issue upon receiving my steel where I used too much oil when sealing the product (you need only use only the thinnest of layers!!) which resulted in a tacky greasy surface. I contacted Pizza Steel to clarify their instructions and they responded almost instantly with very clear clarifications on their original instructions and advice on how to clean and re-treat my steel. They were incredibly responsive and helpful, especially considering the product issue was entirely my fault. If you're looking for a good alternative to a baking stone, definitely get this product it does everything they say it will. Also, know that you will be getting attentive and efficient customer care. "
Federico Espinosa
07/18/2016
Pizza Steel - Baking Combo
"Brilliant. Restaurant style pizzas from oven at home. "
James Rankin
07/13/2016
Like a pizza stone, but does not break!
"Cooked some great homemade pizza!"
Daniel Parascandalo
07/08/2016
Great Product
"Would not hesitate to recommend this to others. Great results. Best crusts I've ever achieved in a domestic oven, without doubt. Looking forward to testing it with bread rather than just Pizza. "
Cameron Senior
07/04/2016
Perfect Baking Combo
"Hi Brian, I used the combo now only 2 times and the result was perfect. I made Bread instead of pizza and found, preheating is much faster and the heat from the buttom is absolutely great. It was the right decision to order this perfect product. Thank you!!!"
Michael Schaefer
06/20/2016
Pizza steel
"Ive bought the pizza steel for sourdough bread making and so far I couldnt be happier with the amazing results. Product is tge best, forget sbout ceramic stones that are cheaper but in the end even with the most careful use they always break, but this pizza steel wont just coat it with oil for first time as recommended and follow instructions and after like myself youll find yourself baking on it more and more because the end result either in baking bread or pizza making is just unbelievable."
Fabio Vieira
06/20/2016
Very good
"I use it for beaking bread "
Volkmar Poetschke
06/20/2016
Superior quality
"Excellent product. It is very heavy, that said its a product for life"
Marie Wilson
06/20/2016
Perfect Steel to Bake
"Perfect to hake Pizza and bread. I Love it. "
Stephan Martin
06/16/2016
Better pizza bases
"While I've yet to bake bread on the steel, I have made a couple of pizzas. The steel has cooked better pizza bases than all of the many other alternatives that I've tried over the years. I personally I still can't get the 'spotting' underneath regardless of preheating for 1 hour+ using a variety of grill/oven but ultimately I guess my UK oven does not get hot enough. Beware it is a VERY heavy bit of kit, and so I recommend you don't drop on your toe as I did if you want to keep your toe in one piece (the steel was fine though!!)"
Steve Wheeler
06/15/2016
Love my Pizza Steel
"It is an amazing piece of hardware!! Pizza, foccacia, and so on turn out spectacular!!"
Manuel Freire de Andrade
06/07/2016
pizza stone
" fantastic at pizza crust, fab when making bread - the best friend I've made so far!"
Alison lee
05/30/2016
Pizza perfection
"After many attempts with various bits of kit the pizza steel is a huge success, perfectly cooked pizza as crisp as you want it ,in a conventional oven and in around six minutes, not to mention virtually indestructible and should last a lifetime. What more needs to be said.thanks ."
Eric Richmond
05/25/2016
Big, hot and well made
"My pizza steel is brilliant. I have used it for making several pizzas and have dough proofing to make more. I'd recommend it to anybody who likes making bread and pizza. It has handled being cleaned a lot better than my old pizza stone and in general it's a nice looking thing. I got the combo - so I have a useful dough knife/divider and the two peels which are great for making pizzas on ahead of time. You should buy one. "
William Knox-Walker
05/24/2016
Excellent pizza and baguettes
"I seasoned the steel 6 times before use with Flaxseed oil (the Canter method) and it produces a rich dark brown finish on the intially grey rough steel. The surface is now almost like a rough lacquer and is perfect for bread and pizzas. The difference is noticeable. Pizzas came out crispy on the bottom with a light airy dough at the edge, as good as I think you can make in a domestic oven. Baguettes rose significantly higher than before at the oven spring stage, producting a full, rounded shape. Excellent and highly recommended. "
Alistair Martin
05/23/2016
Excellent product
"I used to use a pizza stone and I find the iron much better, it gets temperature faster and it doesn't absorb dropped food. I baked a cheesecake and it dropped some stuff on the stone and now it produces a lot of smoke and smell each time I use it. That doesn't happen with the iron stone."
Miguel Gonzalez
05/23/2016
Pizza steel is a steal
"Good pizza cooked on the steel "
Enda Quinn
05/22/2016
Pizza Steel Combo
"I have just used my new pizza steel for the first time and I am very pleased with the results. The ordering process was very easy and I received my steel very quickly. I look forward to perfecting my pizzas using my new steel and my new book, The Elements of Pizza by Ken Forkish."
Tracey Whitfield
05/05/2016
Works as a griddle too!
"We have had an awesome time cooking on our steel since it came. The pizza is stunning, of course, but the rye bread, Georgian cheese bread (khachapuri!—check out a recipe online and give this a go!), are all things we just couldn’t have even cooked without it. Plus, turns out it makes a pretty sweet griddle for French toast too."
Thatcher, Finland
04/26/2016
Absolutely brilliant
"I’ve been making pizzas from scratch since 2002 and this produces by far the most consistent and bubbly underneath I’ve ever had! Well worth the cost and given its quality and weight, unless I leave it in my bathtub to rust, it’ll last a lifetime. Thank you!"
Shamim Ashraf, London
04/12/2016
Foccacia too!
"Pleased to say the Pizza Steel makes amazing pizza for us, just as it seems it does for everybody else. Also made incredible focaccia: the intense heat you get from the steel made the wet, oily dough cook all the way through, but quickly, so you get an amazing bubbly rise as it cooks. Crispy, crunchy thin crust, with light, oily, bubbly centre."
Louis, Bristol
04/11/2016
Love the peels
"Works just as advertised, great service as well. The peels are a nice touch!"
Dian Chen, London
04/06/2016
Completely recommended
"I bought this for baking sourdough bread. It definitely outperforms even a heavy pizza stone and I’m delighted with it. I can recommend getting the pizza peels with it too, they are great for getting loaves into the oven and you know that your dough is going to fit on the stone. Funnily enough, I haven’t used it for pizza yet, but I can predict the results will be excellent. Definitely a purchase that I’m glad to have made and completely recommended."
Colin Angel, Sutton
03/29/2016
Happy with the product
"I’m really happy with the product since i have been wanting one for about a year now because I got fed up with pizza stones which would eventually break. Only place i was able to find similar product was from US and shipping costs from there was too much so i was really happy that i was able to get pizza steel from europe with fee shipping which is huge plus because these things are heavy and probably expensive to ship. When i finally received my pizza steel I was surprised that it performed a lot better than traditional pizza stone when making pizza by reducing baking time and giving better crust. Few minor negative things I must mention is that my pizza steel didn’t come with smooth surface. Both sides of the steel seems to be sand blasted and has the same texture but it doesn’t bother me. Also the combi peels are a little bit hard to use because my oven is narrow and deep (propably most ovens in Finland are) so i can’t use the bent edge to hold the peel. The dough cutter came with protective plastic film which was kind of hard to remove because the logo was stamped through the film so the film was cut in to little pieces and those pieces had to be removed with tweezers. All those negatives are just minor things for me so I would definitely recommend pizza steel for anyone who is seeking surface to bake their pizzas or breads."
Anssi Kesänen, Finland
03/28/2016
Crisp pizzas
"The Pizza Steel is possibly the best utensil I have ever bought for the kitchen. Not cheap, and would be improved by the addition of a case of some sort to store it in, such as the Baking Steel has in the USA. ( I bought an A3 artists portfolio case which the large size Steel fits into, just about!) That said, it produces wonderful pizzas, in no more than 31/2 – 4 minutes, crisp beneath, and sumptuous. On only its second use, my wife declared that her pizza was ‘just like Little Wings’, which is our local Italian pizzeria. I was happy enough with that comment !!! A tip for fellow users – don’t use a large oven if you have a choice, I use my small top oven, put in the steel, and run it at 250 C fan for 40 minutes before cooking. Perfect results!"
Rod Trower, Bangor, Wales