Reviews


The Pizza Steel - Reviews

Here you can take a look at what our customers think about The Pizza Steel.

Two weeks after making their purchase, all customers receive an invitation by email to review their purchase. All reviews are published instantly on this page.

  238

07/03/2017
Pizza Steel combo
"Cooks excellent pizzas in approx 7 mins. The peels are really useful and let you make the whole pizza before sliding them in, a definite advantage. Highly recommend. "
Amanda Kilpatrick
06/29/2017
The Pizza Steel
"Excellent product. Cooked Pizza to perfection."
Connie Davage
06/27/2017
Pizza stone
"I have looked all over to find something to fit my oven that doesn't buckle at high temperatures. The pizza stone is so perfect for bread & pizza baking. Hopefully it will last a lifetime! Great to finally find something fit for purpose."
Dee Hembury-Eaton
06/14/2017
wow what amazing pizzas it makesjust started to have a go with other stuff
"Really impressed with the results took a few goes to get the temperature right but now making better pizzas that any we have had before. The boards to make the pizza on then slip on to steel are great just remember to use plenty of polenta so it slides easily Would recommend this to all my friends so quick and easy really in minutes great for my teenagers sleep over teas as they can all make a pizza to suit their taste"
Ruthanne Lyne
06/13/2017
My pizzas just got so much better!
"I've been making pizzas and pizza dough at home for years. The trick is getting the base cooked through particularly with thick base pizzas without overcooking the topping. I've used pizza stones and they never seemed to quite deliver the goods on the base. However the pizza steel has changed all that! Great pizza ever time!!"
Andrew Baxter
06/11/2017
Totally amazing
"I absolutely love The Pizza Steel. I enjoy making my own pizzas but normal ovens are just not hot enough to form a crispy base - the Pizza Steel solves this and the crusts are amazing! Totally recommend."
Richard Kelly
06/08/2017
Very good purchase & quick service
"I have no complaints about the website, and my purchase. My pizza steel combo arrived very quickly, and the pan is very good. I tried to make a pizza already, and the pizza steel pan is very good, just my pizza making skills need to improve, as I was struggling to transfer my ready to bake pizza in the oven. All in all, very good purchase!"
Laura Tamasauskaite
06/06/2017
It's worth every pound (of steel)
"We are very happy with the Pizza Steel, despite it being rather heavy, the pizza came out with a nice bottom every single time! Would highly recommend to anyone who fancy making their own pizza at home!"
Emily Tsui
06/02/2017
Excellent piece of kitchen kit
"Customer service is amazing and I'm very impressed with my new pizza steel. I've tried pizza stones in the past and they've either broke or sat unused I've been frightened to use them incase they break whilst in use, but the steel I'm very confident and know I get perfect results everytime. The pizza, garlic bread and sourdough bread are the best ever - it makes me make everything from scratch as it's such a pleasure to use and know I'm getting first class results every time. Just wish I'd heard about the pizza steel earlier - thanks so much :-) "
Louise Burns
06/01/2017
absolutely necessary!
"You NEED to have this if you want to make your own pizza in the oven at home!! "
Sam Sonino
05/31/2017
Best pizza I've made in my home oven
"I have been using a pizza stone for several years and finally got a pizza steel and can't recomend it enough! Made the best pizza I've ever done in my home oven with the first one cooking in under 5 minutes giving a great balance of crispy and chewy base. I used my pizza stone on the rack above to help crank the heat up a bit and was very happy with the result! would definitely recomend!"
Jonathan Brown
05/31/2017
PIZZA REVELATION!
"Used this in our Weber Original Kettle BBQ using indirect heat. Worked like a dream! Would go as far to say it was the best tasting pizza we have ever had. Tasted just like the stone baked pizzas in Southern Italy! We didn’t have any baking paper but it was still easy to clean afterwards, and the pizza didn’t stick! Would definitely recommend buying the bundle, as the combi peels are indispensable for transferring and preparing. Very happy customers :) :) "
Isabelle Capper
05/29/2017
Work of Art
"I haven't used it yet! I'm almost too scared too. I intend to use it on the Weber BBQ. It is definately on my list of "to give as a present" for the future."
fiona norman
05/16/2017
I bought this after I
"I bought this after I broke my ceramic pizza stone. Wow - Huge difference. The bread bakes so wonderful. My recipe hasn't changed but the way it cook has and it seems like an entirely new recipe. Highly recommended!"
Felix Aburdene
05/06/2017
Sturdy and very effective
"Very well-made steel, sturdy, good finish. Conditioning it was very easy and helped work out what state it should be in. Very effective with backing the pizzas and bread, and any food residue is very easy to scrape off. Seems virtually indestructible. In my new oven, I will need two steels, so I will buy the second one from here."
Michael Baliousis
05/05/2017
A practical solution 4 crispy pizzas
"Fantastic....a step up from my old ceramic pizza stone and great for my sourdough...."
Nick Peters
05/05/2017
Great results so far
"The steel works well for bread but I haven't tried pizza yet. I have managed to get a much better oven spring and lighter bread. The combination of the matching peels and the idea of using baking paper makes using the steel really easy. I use an IR thermometer to check the temperate of the steel before baking. "
Matthew Adams
05/04/2017
Just what’s needed
"Only so far make a couple of pizzas but the (thin) bases cook perfectly - and quickly - and have a fantastic crisp base - way better than the (too many) pizza stones I’ve used and broken!"
Mark Wilson
05/02/2017
Excellent stuff!
"The Pizza Steel arrived quickly and is of really high quality. All of the accessories work well as well. Cooking with the steel has dramatically improved both bread and pizza. The bread has a much higher oven bounce and the pizza finally has a crispy base, which I'd not managed to achieve before in my current oven. "
Matthew Bellringer
04/25/2017
Great For Pizza Oven, But Not Recommended For Normal Oven
"I tested out the Pizza steel in my usual oven at home - to be honest it made no difference at all at 220 degrees celsius. However, the main reason I bought it was for my wood fired pizza oven built on my allotment. I have already broken 2 pizza stones, and thought the steel would work - and it does. The steel was heated to around 350 - 450 celsius (very hot) for 1 hour. The pizzas cooked in 2 minutes. In fact, the base of the pizza burnt to a crisp on a pizza we left for 3 minutes. Next time I’m going to heat the steel for less time - trial and error I guess, but pizzas tasted very authentic. So the steel works very well at high temperatures. Also, the pizzas are very easy to make on the combo steels, before transferring to the main oven steel. Expensive, but hopefully will last forever!"
Jason Shearer
04/24/2017
So glad I took a chance and bought
"Bought the pizza steel to replace a split pizza stone,and thought I was chancing my arm.How wrong I was,this is one product that delivers more than it promises. I bake homemade bread and this has taken my bread to a new level. The pizzas are amazing as well never eaten so many,not a soggy base since. Well worth the money,and pretty sure it won't split in half as well."
andrew Dodgson
04/24/2017
Does the job nicely.
"How did I manage to live without one of this? Works well for super crispy bottoms. "
Ricardo Zappa
04/05/2017
Finished edges on sliders disappointing but steel good though
"Pizza steel itself is good id prefer it a bit wider for two large loaves personally. Was disappointed with edge finish on the two sliders as thought these would be milled down a bit more not sharp but have to take care in using either. Results so far been good for white and spelt sourdough and whole meal too great bases and even bakes with good structure"
Nigel Boden
03/31/2017
Long lasting solution to soggy bottoms!
"I got the Pizza Steel deal including dough cutter and aluminium pizza peels. Great value. wtihin 2 hours of receiving delivery, I baked my first Pizza Steel pizza. Foccacia/deep crust style. Excellent results achieved with a firm and crispy crust and top without burning. All within 4-6 minutes. My oven 's max temp is 250celsius. I then baked a thin crust pizza. Also great results achieved within 2 minutes. Lastly , i made some naan style breads. Also great results. All in all, the pizza steels works as intended. It should last a life time. It takes 45 minutes to come to temperature. After using, it takes another hour or so to cool down. will try bread next!"
Phillip Phan
03/24/2017
Fantastic!
"It was great to get the pizza steel combo. The pizza steel itself is heavy, but I'm not very big or strong and I can easily manage the weight. Now the steel is building up the ' patina' and the pizzas are great, crispy bottomed! Thank you, it's a great product."
Monica Wadlow
03/16/2017
Pizza bases
"Fab crispy pizza bases, thank you!"
Caroline Vivian
03/14/2017
Pizza steel combo
"I got this to use in an Aga rather than cooking pizzas directly on the cast iron oven floor. It works brilliantly with the crust and toppings browning and cooking much more evenly than before without needing to be moved around in the oven."
Peter Collins
03/13/2017
Fantastic product and great support!
"One of the best kitchen gadgets I've ever purchased. An absolute game-changer for making your own pizzas and so much more. Brilliant support from Brian when I raised a query with the company too. Very happy and would recommend the product and the company without hesitation. Have already bought a second as a gift and they're as pleased with theirs as I am with mine. :)"
Laurie Walker
03/06/2017
Pizza steel
"Brilliant idea and the pizza's come out fantastic."
Kevin Mouncher
03/02/2017
PERFECT PIZZA AT LAST!!
"I have tried for years to emulate the pizza's from our local Italian restaurant. Could never get the base crisp.I decided to invest in the steel as a last attempt at getting it right.Best money I have spent! Now have lovely crisp base pizza and they cook quicker than before. If you follow instructions for seasoning steel you will have perfect pizzas. I have an electric oven and my tip is to use top and bottom heat and whack the temperature up to 300C. Put the steel on a shelf slightly below middle. Once the oven is up to temperature wait 30 minutes. Put pizza on grease proof paper and put in oven. Very easy using Peels supplied. Pizzas will be ready in 5 to 6 minutes. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED"
Andrew Larbalestier