Reviews


The Pizza Steel - Reviews

Here you can take a look at what our customers think about The Pizza Steel.

Two weeks after making their purchase, all customers receive an invitation by email to review their purchase. All reviews are published instantly on this page.

  243

09/25/2018
superb in every way
"hi a bit of background about me i was trained as a baker in my parents village bakery. my mother is a master baker 'old school 1960's apprenticeship. everything was made from scratch every day.it was hot fast busy. we had lovely old tweedale ovens ie bottom baked. i bought the steel and was amazed that i could recreate old recipes ie in a hot but 'falling' oven. pizzas best ever but bread and fruit pies great as well. on the farm my grandmother cooked on a yorkshire range and her apple pies were out of this world and i could never do them.. until now..the peel is well worth having. my wife rolled her eyes in 'not another kitchen gadget' kinda way. but she has admitted that its fantastic. buy one now you won't regret it. barely any seasoning nothing has stuck in fact just a fortnight in and i don't really need to use baking paper."
Steven Trafford
09/17/2018
Better than stone...
"After cracking 2 stones on my new Chesneys Heat 500 BBQ Pizza Stove, I came across the Pizza Steel. I’ve got the Pizza’s down to a fine art on the steel and they are as good, if not better than they were on stone. Highly recommended if you are using a bbq or stove where the heat can be more intense and less controllable than an oven."
Dan Edwards
08/16/2018
Great Homemade Pizzas
"Takes a tiny bit of effort to season the steel at the beginning (because the steel is so heavy), but definitely worth it. The resulting pizza has that nicely charred flavour and cooks very quickly (2 - 3 mins) if you put it on the top oven shelf with the grill on max. Obviously not as good a wood fired oven which can achieve much higher temperatures, but the taste is very close. Really happy with the purchase!"
Chee Diep
08/02/2018
As advertised
"The steel has performed as advertised, better than my two previous pizza stones, best pizza I ever made."
Karen Vogtmann
07/11/2018
Great product
"Although I’ve only baked three sourdough loaves since purchasing my pizza steel it has made a lot of difference to the overal texture of my bread. I think I shall enjoy using this for many years baking. The peel works brilliantly with the steel. Very pleased I managed to get the combo set. "
Alison Beck
07/04/2018
Pizza Steel
"Fantastic product - great build quality - just remember to crank up your oven as high as possible and then you will get restaurant quality results. "
Jason Gosling
07/03/2018
Pizza Steel
"Fast delivery, great packing, fab communication with a sense of fun & humor. Product itself is great & I’m sure will last a lifetime. "
Carol Jones
07/02/2018
I stuck it in my barbecue!
"It was excellent. I experimented with using grease proof paper, as they suggest and it proved very effective. It was bought to replace a stone tile and the steel handled the high heat of my barbecue without fault. Highly recommended. "
Caleb Thomson
06/02/2018
Amazing
"I was skeptical that the pizza steel would perform as advertised but after breaking my last pizza stone I thought I'd give it a shot. So glad I did, I've changed nothing in my recipe but the pizza steel has taken my home made pizzas to the next level, to the point I'm debating whether I really need to build the wood fired pizza oven in the garden..."
Phil Turner
05/31/2018
Great Buy
"Excellent service quality product"
Paul Lakin
05/30/2018
Really pleased
"I've just made my best sourdough pizza ever. This very heavy steel gives excellent results. The pizza base was light and fluffy with a good crust."
Stephanie Smith
05/28/2018
Fantastic Pizza Steel
"Beautifully made and amazing to use once you get used to the superior heat retention. Great customer care as well!"
Scott Dawson
05/15/2018
Great for Pitta Breads
"Cooked in 2:45....."
Scott Boden
05/14/2018
Game changer !
"My pizza steel is awesome. This changes everything : )"
Sean Keenan
05/04/2018
Great present
""
Antigone Johnstone-Burt
05/03/2018
Crispy Bases
"Delivery was smooth and quick - pizza bases lovely and crisp"
MICHELLE WILSON
05/02/2018
It does what it says on the t̶i̶n̶ steel
"Previously used a ceramic stone, which cracked. The Pizza Steel produces a superior pizza, and will never crack. Very happy with purchase."
David Molloy
04/20/2018
Great Pizza Steel
"The pizza steel is fantastic, it holds the heat of the oven and it makes great pizzas. Best thing for making pizzas at home "
Keith McMath
04/16/2018
Great!
"The steel is great, having seasoned it and using it regularly I couldn’t be without it. Thanks! "
Angie Grima
04/09/2018
great product
"Really excellent experience"
Philip Cox
04/02/2018
Makes great pizza
"We are so happy with the pizza steel we bought. It makes great pizza and it gets the kids involved with making dinner. Also, great customer service. We had a minor issue and Brian sorted it out quickly. I highly recommend."
Tammie Rhee
03/29/2018
New Pizza steel
"Still in the process of seasoning the steel, but so far it has been delivering excellent pizzas"
Jim Reddington
03/28/2018
Finally I can make restaurant quality pizzas at my home
"It's amazing, I can finally get a crispy dough thanks to the temperature reached on the pizza steel. I recommend putting it as close as possible to the base of the oven."
Vicente Olivert Riera
03/28/2018
Just the job for sourdough bread
"I bought the 1+2 combo (pizza steel, 2 x pizza peel and dough cutter) on the recommendation of the person ran the sourdough workshop where I leaned about sourdough bread baking. I’m really pleased with it, it gives great results and I like that the peels match the size of the steel, so it’s easy to arrange your loaves on the peel and know that they will fit. Great customer service, a very tiny problem with the dough cutter that only an obsessive would notice was quickly sorted out. I’ve not used this for pizza yet, just for bread, but I’m sure it will be great for that as well and should last a lifetime. Highly recommended. "
John Argyle
03/21/2018
Highly recommend
"Must have for any pizza nerd. Better crust and no chance of it splitting like most stones after awhile."
Matthew Green
03/12/2018
Pizza/Bread Making- Essential Equipment!
"I've been making pizza and bread for the last few years and bought a few pieces of equipment before I came to the Pizza Steel. Like many others I initially used a baking stone to improve the the cook on the bottom of my breads. This made a marginal difference did improve the final product but the bottom was never as well cooked as the rest. I was made aware of the pizza steel by French Guy Cooking on youtube. This was just after my pizza stone cracked in two during a bake so I was open to ideas. The results are remarkable! Treating the steel is as easy as wiping the top down with a little olive oil. My first bake was a white loaf. The final result was the first time I've had as good a bake on the bottom as the rest of the loaf. Second time round I cooked a pizza and, again, the bottom of the base was cooked perfectly. It also saw the pizza rise much better around the crust but this could have been coincidence. Something else I've noticed is that nothing has stuck to the steel. Everything has been baked without any flour or oil (beyond the initial treatment) and it's all moved freely. The steel is heavy so be careful but if you use two hands you'll be absolutely fine. The steel also retains heat incredibly well so never assume it's cool. My oven is relatively old so cooks at about 20C below the target temp so I'd imagine, with a hotter over, the steel could achieve easy charring if you wanted. Overall, it's 100% worth the price. It'll last forever and make a marked difference to you bake without much practice."
Joshua Wicks
03/01/2018
great product - caring support
"beautifully presented steel and associated bits which are perfect for the oven - steel seems easy to treat and straightforward to use"
Graham Kelly
02/26/2018
Great multi use product
"Whilst sold as primarily for baking pizzas, this steel can do so much more. In a cook off between my old pizza stone and the steel, there is no comparison, the pizzas cook faster leading to more rise in the crusts and a less dense pizza. However this is also great for baking, and so far I have baked English Muffins, French baguette and loaves on the steel, all with fantastic results. This is a great product that I have no doubts will be very durable and would highly recommend. "
Thomas Knowles
02/19/2018
Perfect for pizza!
"Gets the oven nice and hot for baking pizza. Easy to clean afterwards. "
02/16/2018
Pizza steel and peel
"The pizza steel is great! The pizzas come out lovely and crispy with soft doughy crusts. We’re looking forward to trying some bread. The peel is also a great way to manoeuvre the pizzas, we were using cardboard sheets before! Excellent customer service to boot. Highly recommend "